New York City
Art Teachers 
Association

United Federation of Teachers

NYSATA- REGION 8 

NYCATA/UFT ART EDUCATION RESOURCE PAGE

 SCROLL DOWN FOR LINKS TO SOME OF NYC'S MOST VALUABLE ART AND ART EDUCATION RESOURCES.  ORGANIZATIONS THAT WANT TO BE CONSIDERED TO BE LISTED HERE ARE URGED TO CONTACT US!
___________________________________________

OFFICE OF ARTS AND SPECIAL PROJECTS, NYCDOE 

The Office of Arts and Speical Projects is the arts education department of the NYCDOE.  Our visual Arts Liaison is Karen Rosner.  


For information about NYCDOE curriculum resources and professional learning for visual arts teachers.  Members can contact Karen Rosner, Coordinator of Visual Arts, Office of Arts and Special Projects at krosner@schools.nyc.gov .  She may also be reached at 917. 521. 3716. 


Here is a brief summary of the new DOE website where you can access information:


WeTeach: All pedagogical resources are available on WeTeachNYC.org, including the Blueprints, Sample Curriculum Maps, Arts for Students with Disabilities Online Resource Compendium, and the Specific Considerations. Pedagogues can use the Search function to locate specific instructional materials. For easy reference, the Blueprints are directly linked as follows: Dance, Moving Image, Music, Theater, Visual Arts, and Leadership Manual.


You also can access WeTeach at https://www.weteachnyc.org/


InfoHub: The new InfoHub has information targeted at employees, partners, providers, and researchers. The InfoHub includes an employee-only site, similar to the former Intranet. For example, the Arts and Cultural Education Services Guide and the Arts Education Liaisons are available under “Partners and Providers,” and the Annual Arts in Schools Report is available under “Reports and Policies.”


You also can access InfoHub at https://infohub.nyced.org/


iTeach: Professional learning registration is available on iTeachNYC.

You also can access registration on iTeach at  

https://iteachnyc.net/2018/08/23/arts-teachers-bookmark-this-site-for-resources-and-professional

_________________________________________________________________________


Materials for the Arts

MFTA is New York’s premiere reuse center, providing a way for companies and individuals to donate unneeded supplies to thousands of nonprofit organizations with arts programming and public schools. We offer a wide variety of events, workshops, and classes to help people see and experience creative reuse up close.

Third Thursdays: On the Third Thursday of every month at Materials for the Arts, you are invited to a free reuse art-making workshop exploring unusual supplies found in our warehouse.

ABOUT MATERIALS FOR THE ARTS
Materials for the Arts collects unneeded items from businesses and individuals, and make these donations available for free to its recipients: nonprofit organizations with arts programming, government agencies, and public schools.

RECIPIENTS
Materials for the Arts Recipients Get Free Supplies. Each year, MFTA provides millions of dollars of supplies as well as inspiration to New York City's artistic and educational communities.  Only registered recipients can schedule shopping appointments to visit our warehouse for supplies and obtain items through our online Direct Donations listing. 

_________________________________________________________



For 40 years, ArtsConnection has provided innovative arts programming to millions of students in the New York City public school system, enhancing children’s intellectual, personal and social growth, while developing award-winning educational models. ArtsConnection’s programming for students, professional development, and research all contribute to a comprehensive approach, nationally recognized for its quality, design and impact across diverse learning communities.


ARTS CONNECTION PROVIDES


Customized in-school programming to over 120 schools, pre K-12, citywide, serving tens of thousands of young people annually


Out-of-school programs for teens, providing experience-rich opportunities for young people to engage in NYC’s cultural world


Free and reduced-priced tickets to performances and cultural venues through our High5 Tickets program


Extensive professional development opportunities for classroom teachers and arts specialists, as well as for our own teaching artists


On-line resources for educators and like-minded practitioners to enrich the arts education field


VISIT: https://teens.artsconnection.org/sap/ TO FIND OUT MORE!

Web Resources for Cultural Institutions, compiled by NYC DOE


The following websites provide links to many of the cultural institutions in the New York City area. Information such as current exhibitions and teacher resources can be found on these sites.  


SORRY ALL LINKS ARE NOT LIVE YET, 

CUT AND PASTE INTO YOUR ADDRESS BAR


American Folk Art Museum, www.folkartmuseum.org 


Asia Society, www.asiasociety.org


www.folkartmuseum.org


Bronx Museum of the Arts, www.bronxmuseum.org 


Brooklyn Historical Society, www.brooklynhistory.org


Brooklyn Museum, www.brooklynmuseum.org


The Cloisters, www.metmuseum.org/visit/visit-the-cloisters Cooper Hewitt Design Museum, www.cooperhewitt.org 


El Museo del Barrio, www.elmuseo.org 


The Frick Collection, www.frick.org


Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, www.guggenheim.org 


Hispanic Society of America, www.hispanicsociety.org International Center of Photography, www.icp.org


Japan Society, www.japansociety.org


The Jewish Museum, www.thejewishmuseum.org 


The Metropolitan Museum of Art, www.metmuseum.org 


Museum for African Art, www.ny.com/museums/museum.for.african.art.html 


Museum of Arts and Design, www.madmuseum.org 


Museum of Chinese in America, www.mocanyc.org 


Museum of Contemporary African Diasporan Arts (MoCADA), www.mocada.org 


Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), www.moma.org 


MoMA PS 1, www.momaps1.org


The Morgan Library and Museum, www.themorgan.org 


Museum of Jewish Heritage, www.mjhnyc.org/nindex.html


Museum of the City of New York, www.mcny.org 


Museum of the Moving Image, www.movingimage.us


The National Academy Museum, www.nationalacademy.org 


National Museum of the American Indian, www.nmai.si.edu 


National September 11 Memorial & Museum, www.911memorial.org 


New Museum, www.newmuseum.org


New-York Historical Society, www.nyhistory.org 


Neue Galerie New York, www.neuegalerie.org 


Noguchi Museum, www.noguchi.org Queens 


Museum of Art, www.queensmuseum.org 


The Rubin Museum of Art, www.rubinmuseum.org 


Sculpture Center, www.sculpture-center.org 


Snug Harbor, www.snug-harbor.org 


Socrates Sculpture Park, www.socratessculpturepark.org 


Studio Museum in Harlem, www.studiomuseum.org 

Tenement Museum, www.tenement.org 


Weeksville Heritage Center, www.weeksvillesociety.org 


Whitney Museum of American Art, www.whitney.org